Corrnerstone Credit Union Awards Five Scholarships to Local Students

FREEPORT, IL – Cornerstone Credit Union proudly announces the outstanding recipients of their 2020 Founders’ Scholarships: Chloe Bunker, Monroe High School; Naomi Mullen, Eastland High  School (Lanark); Kayla Runkie, Pearl City High School; Kody Velazquez, Rock Falls High School; and Alyvia Woodard, Milledgeville High School. Each winner received a $1,500 award.

“Education is the key to a successful future, which is why Cornerstone Credit Union is proud yo have offered these scholarship awards annually to high school seniors since 1988,” stated Gail Clore, Cornerstone Credit Union President/CEO. “Especially during this unique and difficult year, it is our privilege to recognize these outstanding local students who were chosen for their commitment to furthering their education and community involvement. On behalf of Cornerstone’s Board of Directors and staff, I congratulate this year’s recipients and wish them future success,” added Clore.

All of the winners have an impressive list of academic achievements and activities and have been accepted to an accredited college or university. Chloe Bunker will be attending University of Wisconsin for a nursing degree, focusing on Geriatrics or Pediatrics; Naomi Mullen will be attending University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, pursing a degree in Chemistry with a focus in Biochemistry; Kayla Runkie will be attending St. Ambrose University for a Kinesiology degree with plans to continue on for her Doctorate of Physical Therapy; Kody Velazquez will be attending Aurora University for a degree in Secondary Education/History; and Alyvia Woodard will be attending Sauk Valley Community College pursing an Accounting and Business degree.

Established in 1939, Cornerstone Credit Union is a full-service,  not for profit financial cooperative with $130 million in assets, serving nearly 13,000 members. Cornerstone offers service centers in Freeport, South Beloit,  Sterling, and Milledgeville. Membership is open to anyone living or working in the Illinois counties of Boone, Bureau, Carroll, JoDaviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago; and Rock and Green counties in Wisconsin. Visit to leatn more

CONTACT: Lorna Cote, Marketing Director, phone 815.235.5855; email

550 W. Meadows Drive, Freeport, IL 61032 | P: 815.235.5855 |