Awards Banquet Recap

The 2018 Awards Banquet was an amazing night for all who attended, as we celebrated a year of excellence while honoring a few of the great Chamber members that help make the Stateline amazing.

Approximately 130 people came in support of the Chamber and were entertained with music, great food, and a presentation by the Chamber about where we’ve been and where we are going. New Chamber President, Ryan Monette, recognized the Innagural Executive Board for their years of service, announcing that a plaque will be hung in the Chamber office in their honor.

We are incredibly proud of our award winners this year. They have shown a level of excellence in so many ways. Your award winners are:

Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Louie’s Tap House – Taking over the old Clubhouse space, Louie’s opened to thunderous support. The Tap House offers the area’s largest offering of craft beers on tap in a great atmosphere. Plus, with a wonderful food menu, serving breakfast lunch and dinner in their Breakfast & Dining Room, they really make Roscoe that much better.

Other finalists were: 808 Cheesecake and RockTek Workspace

Community Service Award

Laura Baluch – As the Stateline Chamber’s inaugural President, Laura worked every day to ensure the Chamber’s future success. Her and her law firm, BSLBV, are longtime supports of the Chamber, offering volunteer time and strong financial support. She also volunteers with Stateline Baseball, Club Blue, American Heart Association, and the Rockford Women’s Cosmopolitan Club.

Other finalists were: Jeremy Jones and Anabel Toye

Pride of the Stateline Award

Hononegah Community High School – Ask anyone new to the area why they choose to move here, or why so many families stay here, and you will get the same answer – for the high-quality education their children receive at Hononegah. HCHS is constantly rated among the top districts in IL and the nation. The general sentiment is “as Hononegah goes – so goes the Stateline”.

Other finalists were: Dairyhaus and Taylor Company

Business of the Year

RockTek Workspace – In addition to housing dozens of established and start-up businesses, RockTek supplies meeting and entertainment space to the Chamber and other area organizations in it’s beautiful modern facility. The RockTek team truly is driven by growing business & community together.

Other finalists were: Kids Spot, Inc and Sugar Britches

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Lynn Gibson – When HCHS announced that Dr. Gibson was retiring, it came as no surprise that the community wondered who could possibly fill her shoes. She has been an amazing leader for the district, working with the community on plans that have developed HCHS into the beacon of pride we have today. We are indebted to her leadership and collaborative nature.

Other finalists were: Cyndy Fogarty and Marge Bauch


The Ambassador Club also awarded a long time Chamber member, ambassador, and business leader, Toni Brown with the Ambassador of the Year Award for her years of selfless service to the community.  The Board of Directors honored Tricia Diduch with the Member of the Year award for her contributions to the board and numerous chamber initiatives/events.

In addition to the wonderful work by Asst. Director, Karrah Bittner, we owe a big thank you to the volunteer planning committee that made the event possible: John Broda, Kat Cook, Eric Magnuson, Kelly Maier, and Ryan Rydell.